Baked Apples, New Fabric, and Plans

20141102-153425.jpg

Yum. Filled these apples with sliced almonds, oats, shredded coconut and brown sugar.

Autumn is here, and with it comes bread baking, bean soaking, veggie roasting, and all the rest.

20141102-153757.jpg

Here is the first loaf of the season. The standard, easy Oatmeal Sandwich Loaf from ‘Good to the Grain.’

This is my first time baking a free form loaf. As some bakers may be able to recognize, this dough over-proofed. It rose more than it was supposed to, hence its gigantic size. Yesterday I made bread again, using the same recipe, but baked it in two loaf pans instead. The free form loaf had a bit too much crust and not enough chewy middle for us.

I was thrilled to hit the fabric store last Friday and pick up the first of my quilting fabric. I allotted myself $200 spending money for Christmas this year, and intend to spend most of that on fabric that I will then make gifts out of. Shhhhh…. Someone’s getting a quilt for their winter holiday gift. Here is a peek at the first fabrics I chose for it.

20141102-154449.jpg

20141102-154458.jpg

20141102-154506.jpg

I thought the color theme would be blue, but apparently I was wrong. It is earth toned, and the accent color will be blue.

Here is a sweet fabric I picked up for some of my littler winter holiday gifts. It is so Portland, I just couldn’t resist. In fact, it is raining right now as I sit on my porch writing this.

20141102-154659.jpg

I’ll share more specific plans and patterns for my christmas crafting as November progresses. I am looking forward to holding christmas crafting sessions with friends.

Enjoy your warm ovens and your hand sewing. ~Erin

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in baking, crafting, harvest, kitchen, quilting, sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

