Holiday Crafting

20141220-125921.jpg

My sewing nook in the back room has gotten a lot of use these past few weeks. My sewing takes place almost entirely during nap times or after little one’s bedtime (I set an alarm to wake myself back up).

I have made cloth napkins for my friend from Michigan who just moved to Portland (Michigan Immigrant Community unite !). I found out recently that she has always wanted them. That made it easy to decide what to gift her. I used fabric that I have had for a long time.

I made quilted pot holders for my best canning friend. Last time I was canning with her I noticed that her’s were worn and burned. Perfect timing to receive homemade new ones.

20141220-130447.jpg

And of course, the quilt. This morning at 5:30 a.m. I begin my first work on it. Yes, it is destined to land in it’s recipient’s hands on December 25th. And yes, I think I can do it. Nine large squares, a thick inner layer of cotton, a solid print back and binding. This morning I sewed the fabric for the backing. Here it goes…

20141220-130948.jpg

I had many more projects in mind, but I will be happy with completing just these three. Most of us would probably be happier with less stuff to deal with anyway, and as a parent, I espouse to the philosophy that less is more when it comes to toys.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in compromise, crafting, Family, home, kitchen, quilting, sewing, thrifty. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holiday Crafting

  1. vankeith001 says:

    I enjoyed visiting your site. I enjoyed the photographs, in addition to reading about the goodness of the lifestyle you have chosen and describe here. The photo of the predawn sky against your white sewing machine communicates to me, a crafter, the excitement of creating gifts by Christmas and the pristine beauty of the season. Happy 2015!

What'd ya think?

