Purging

I have a new habit: Getting rid of everything we do not love or use often.

It is so liberating. I am letting go. Letting go of stuff we do not need. Letting go of guilt. Letting go of the idea that I have to hold on to things just because someone I care about gave them to me. It feels so good. I feel lighter, more free. So much stuff that we have kept over the years, hauled with us from house to house, is stuff we do not use. It stays in its boxes, or we worry about where to store it. I am so relieved to let it all go.

Bag by bag our belongings are leaving our house. When I have finished this sort through we will be left with just the things we adore or use regularly. Thank you release. Goodbye guilt.

20150119-110102.jpg

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in home, organizing, simplifying, thrifty. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Purging

  1. Helen says:

    I know the feeling – just need to do more of it!

  2. We have had two huge yard sales and cleaned out about half of our house over the past few years. We have many, many boxes of china, crystal and antiques gifted down from family. I have been going through the boxes and putting the ‘good’ dishes in the cupboard. Why bother keeping this stuff we aren’t going to use it??? We may as well make our life an always ‘special’ occaision.

What'd ya think?

