Winter’s Garden

Winter gardening is hard on my pride. The garden largely looks empty, and the plants grow slowly. But grow they do, and upon closer inspection, there is a lot going on in the garden this time of year.

20150123-135412.jpg

If anything can swell the pride of a winter gardener it is mustard. These plants can survive hard weather and neglect. Thank you mustard. I must eat more of you.

20150123-135642.jpg

Here is a row of mustard greens I planted this summer. Behind them is our gnome. My intention was to allow these to quickly go to seed, then harvest the seed to use in pickled veggies. But as I just stated,
mustard greens stand up well to neglect, and they are thriving despite the minimal care they have received.

20150123-135948.jpg

It looks so pretty! If only it had reemay…

20150123-140137.jpg

Arugula! Another good plant for boosting the confidence of a winter gardener.

I have moved many of my potted herbs into the greenhouse in hopes of keeping off the worst of the chill and giving them a head start toward an early sprout time. Each winter they die back, and each spring they regrow. My hopes seem well founded as both the mint and the chives are already sending up new growth.

On the coldest nights I have been heating a brick up in the oven and then placing it on the ground in the greenhouse. It is the same technique as placing a hot water bottle under your blankets at the foot of your bed. It warms up the space just a bit. Enough, I hope, to keep the plants from freezing.

Now is the mellow time of year when a gardener can choose when she does her tasks. If a project waits a week, it is probably fine. It is a non stressful period. We can relax. The excitement (and continuous devotion) lies ahead. Soon I will start seeds in trays. Soon I will plant peas. For now I will blog and read my book.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in garden, struggles, thrifty and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Winter’s Garden

  1. Erin – you may have already been nominated in the past but I have nominated you for the Liebster Award. If you are interested in participating, you can find the award here: http://wp.me/p50b6t-b2. Congratulations and Happy Blogging!

    • Erin O'Neill says:

      Thank you so much. I appreciate you nominating me. I have decided to decline the award. The reason is this: part of receiving the award is the responsibility of nominating other bloggers. At this point I only read one other blog, and that blogger has too many followers to be eligible for the award.

      So I thank you heartily for the nomination. Glad you’ve enjoyed erinsbackyardfarm.

What'd ya think?

