Morning Mocha

20150208-123704.jpg

These days I wake at 5:30. I stretch in front of the heater as my coffee brews. My morning mocha is a diabetic friendly one. Coffee, lots of 1/2&1/2, a drizzle of agave, and cocoa. With my limbs and back loosened up I sit down with my warm cup and its smoky cocoa, and I take a moment to myself.

Moments like this are precious to the moms of toddlers. All day their activity and excitement surrounds us, as do their needs. The quiet moments are when we recenter. They are sanity makers.

Sometimes I light a candle in the pre-dawn darkness. I appreciate the quiet, cuddle with the animals, and rejoice as the sun’s light moves over my window and into my kitchen. Winter’s darkness can truly make us appreciate light.

If I am lucky I will get to write a letter or read a chapter of my book in my morning solitude. This meditative time alone usually lasts about half an hour after which I begin my duties as a homemaker, which include making coffee, breakfast and lunch to go for my hardworking husband. A great peace has been created between us ever since I took on regularly preparing these meals for him. He can then wake and have his moment alone rather than rushing around getting ready.

20150208-124957.jpg

20150208-125014.jpg

Enjoy your time alone mamas and papas. Take a deep breath and prepare to meet your day.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in Family, home, parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

