Making Do

These have been lean times. My role is to feed the family, whether in times of plenty or no. I had to get mighty creative this last month to make those meals appear on the table. Although this can be hard, it can also make me proud of my creativity and resourcefulness.

Many mornings saw fresh scones or biscuits offered with eggs, in place of toast. Eggs were bought with change from my friendly local egg neighbor, or gathered here from the hen house. I made homemade bread several times as well.

20150303-140301.jpg

I bought a few ingredients from the store each week, which I used to round out the bulk food we had at home. Mostly I bought produce and dairy products: milk, cheese, butter, 1/2&1/2 and yogurt. In bulk here we had half a chest freezer full of pasture raised meat, much whole wheat flour and white flour, oats, homemade jam and homemade pickles in the pantry, and frozen corn, zucchini, green beans, blueberries and raspberries in the freezer.

20150303-140251.jpg

I was able to come up with a remarkable number of different meals, treats and snacks using combinations of these foods.

We also have greens harvesting from the garden, as well as some fresh herbs. We have kale, collard greens and swiss chard for cooking, and arugula and swiss chard for salad. We have an abundance of parsley, and also fresh mint and chives and green onions.

20150303-140017.jpg

20150303-140240.jpg

I was struck by the amount of food security a household has if they have food stored away. It may seem obvious, but I didn’t fully realize how important this was until we truly needed that food. Then I became increasing thankful for our bulk food purchases. They are better environmentally because there is less packaging involved, and they are better economically, because you pay less when you buy in bulk. And if you come to a time when you need food – there it is. And boy is it beautiful.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in baking, bread, canning, chickens, compromise, cooking, harvest, pantry, preserving, simplifying, struggles, thrifty, turning waste into want. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Making Do

  1. miusho says:

    It’s shows you don’t really need processed food, plus it is actually much healthier.. And cheaper.

    • Erin O'Neill says:

      Yeah. It made me amazed by the small quantities of food that get packaged up and sold. It seemed ridiculous.

      Also, I’ve noticed that packaged breads and baked goods no longer taste delicious to me. They just don’t taste fresh like the ones I make at home.

      • miusho says:

        Because they aren’t really all that fresh. A lot of products are filled with conservatives and other things to mask the fact that they’re actually out of date. Ofcourse it’s not ALL processed foods but plenty. It’s actually kind of scary knowing they’re feeding us this kind of food.

  2. I read all the comments to this posts and the thought that comes mind is a reason our gvt. Started packaging food. War… otherwise we probably still would be eating locally and of the land more. Just one reason. I then thought feed the hungry. Now these 2 thoughts are extreme measures. People hardly cook at home these days due to convince. Thank you for sharing your post. Be blessed!

What'd ya think?

