The Sleeping Child

I share a bed with my husband and our toddler. Last night she slept until 5, when I woke, then she fell back to sleep. Nights like this give me vitality for my early wakings and the day that follows. But many nights she wakes 3-5 times a night, needing a bit of my effort and energy to fall asleep once more.

At two and half years of age she still nursing, not by some great plan of my own, but because I am not quite sure how to stop. It takes so much energy to divert her from nursing, so going with it is just easier on me. Or is it? I am ready for solid nights of sleep. I am ready to call my breasts my own again.

Everyone in our house has slightly different schedules. My step step son sometimes settles down to sleep just hours before my husband and I wake. We also have the amazing knack of choosing homes where you have to walk through our bedroom to reach the bathroom. And our bedroom door doesn’t close or open without a small squeak, or a low and solid ‘pop.’

20150321-075040.jpg

So how do I transition from fearing the creaky door, the loud breakfast making noises, the night time chatter, to enjoying life while my little one sleeps?

We will see, my friends. I have been relying largely on life’s changing stages, which occur with or without our input. Baby to toddler, toddler to small child. Teenager to adult. Life moves us along our path. I just need to walk this path now holding my toddler’s hand, not nursing her. So I may have more morning solitude. More yoga. More deep breaths.

20150321-075609.jpg

Wish me luck.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in compromise, Family, parenting, struggles, toddler. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Sleeping Child

  1. Helen says:

    I nursed my daughter till she was three years two months old, so I know how you might feel. Part of my reason for letting her continue was so she had continuity through lots of upheaval but shortly after buying my house I said no more and after a week she never asked again.

  2. Your home life is uncanny – My name is Erin, I co-sleep/family bed with my 9 month old (new mom with no plans to stop nursing…yet), cook all our family’s meals from scratch, have a step child….if you tell me your Birthday is in July I will be convinced we are soul friends. Happy Sunday!

What'd ya think?

