Spunky

Our chicken Spunky died last night. She became very ill and I had to make my first farmer like decision regarding a chicken. I know I made the right choice because despite all our best efforts, it became clear that a quality life free of suffering was not an option for her. I am grateful to my friends who helped me with the process, as I am a novice when it comes to chicken death.

20150611-135712.jpg

20150611-135829.jpg

20150611-135916.jpg

Thank You Spunky for one good year. We appreciated your presence in our lives and all that you gave us. Thank you for eating grain out of our hands, thank you for letting us pick you up, thank you for entertaining River endlessly, and thank you for your eggs.

I have never seen an animal killed before. Although I was not particularly emotionally attached to Spunky, and even though it was done very well and very fast, it is still a powerful experience that is hard to shake.

I am glad for the year that we spent with Spunky. And I am glad for her. Although she died last night, she got an extra year of life. If we had not taken her into our flock her life would have been ended a year ago. She was getting picked on by her flock mates at her old farm, and the farmers were going to have her for dinner. Instead we took her on and incorporated her into a small flock where she was welcomed by the other chickens. They all got along well and she spent the past year in good company and seemingly in good spirits.

River and I buried her this morning and said goodbye.

Thanks Spunky. May you return to the cycle of life.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in chickens, Family, struggles. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

