Turning Waste Into Want

In order to make room for this season’s veggies, River and I took a load of last year’s frozen veggies from the freezer in our house to the chest freezer. I also added to the chest freezer four new bags of zucchini that were gifted to us from a local farmer friend. They were a surplus for her.

As a way to simultaneously bump up our jam supply and clean out the freezer, we turned all of our unused frozen fruit into a batch of jam. We combined raspberries, grapes, and peaches to make a really yummy three fruit jam.

20150711-204457.jpg

River helped to prepare it by mashing the thawed fruit.

20150711-204736.jpg

We also made sure to harvest fruit from the nearby fruit trees that no one harvests from. We dried some plums for winter dried fruit. River learned to use our new cherry pitter and pitted many of the plumbs herself.

20150711-204945.jpg

When I made pesto pasta last week there was extra pesto and I froze it up. One little jar is more than no little jars.

20150711-205214.jpg

Everything counts when it comes to food preservation.

One thing I do all winter long is to freeze hardy greens from the garden that would otherwise not be eaten. If I notice that a kale or collard plant has leaves that will go by and we have no need for them then I wash them and throw them in a freezer bag wet. Later, I go back and scrunch up the freezer bag, breaking the frozen leaves into bite size pieces. It takes very little effort, and makes it easy to throw greens into a veggie soup.

Can on.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in preserving, thrifty, toddler, turning waste into want. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

