Peach And Potato Harvest

imageimage

Our little peach tree produced. And not just a few peaches. It produced a whole large bowl full of peaches. River picked many an early peach, but we still got a good crop. We all feel lots of excitement over this fruit, because we grew this little tree from the rootstock of an old grafted peach tree. When we began, the tree was nothing more than an old crooked, dry trunk. We thought the peach tree was dead, but our landlords wouldn’t let us cut it down. So I planted strawberries around it. All my watering of the strawberries paid off. The root stock of this spindly old stalk of a tree grew its own branches, and the branches bore fruit. Within two years of planting strawberries, we had peaches. Pretty amazing.

The potatoes were also a family affair. I planted them, we all tended them, and my husband and daughter took extra delight in harvesting them.

As the (small) harvests roll in I begin to tuck in for winter time. The breezes are cooler, and the sky is cloudy. The garden still bears tomatoes, cucumbers and zucchini. Sunflowers and now marigolds beam out their fall oranges and golds. It is harvest season, and here in Pacific Northwest, time to plant again! I am separating and replanting kale starts grown over the summer from saved seed. I am canning like crazy, but dreaming about quilting.

Enjoy your harvests, and savor the golden days.

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in garden, harvest. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peach And Potato Harvest

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

What'd ya think?

