Feeding The Family With Small Batch Canning

Some people might assume that to feed a family on home canned goods one must only preserve in huge batches. I beg to differ. My family relies heavily on my home canned goods as a basic part of our diet. I participate in 4-8 large batch canning sessions a year that yield me 15-24 jars at a time, but I also independently can up 20 plus batches on my own that yield anywhere from 1 jar to 12 jars. 

Small batch canning is a terrific, low pressure way to slowly build up your pantry throughout the year. 
  

Here is some lovely red sauce made from friends’ garden veggies, olive oil and salt. It is beyond imagining.
  

Homegrown dills, processed in very small batches. I made a few jars of dills every few weeks from late August in until October. 
  

Bread and butter pickles in the making, also from homegrown cucumbers. These were made from my grandmother’s recipe.
  

Salsa. This has been made in slightly larger batches due to the generosity of some farmer friends. This year I have made enough salsa that I could feed my family one jar a week all year. However, some weeks we eat four jars…

Canning started out for me as an interesting hobby. Over time it has become a vital way I feed my family, practice self sufficiency, and eat more local food in the winter.

You too can buff up your family’s pantry with small batch canning. If you are a skilled canner you can create and process a small batch in an hour or two. I can fit in certain small batch canning sessions while I make dinner, after dinner, or at nap time. If you are new to canning I recommend setting aside 2-3 hours for pickles or jam. Products that need to cook down should be allowed more time. You can do it. Your canner self is waiting to be reborn. 

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in canning, harvest, pantry, preserving, simplifying, thrifty. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

