Spring Is Here

Hello Again.

Around here we have been busy with basic, old fashioned living. Bread baking several times a week, cooking food from scratch, animal care, dishes, laundry, kids. River and I weeded a huge area in our newly expanded garden, and planted a lot of spring vegetable seeds.

 

Our little indoor veggie starts are doing quite well, and I’m hopeful for a fruitful season ahead.

I’ve found a delightful, easy homemade bread recipe. Here is the link.

I’m fulfilling one of my dreams by cooking nearly all our food from scratch. It is hard work, takes up a large portion of my day, and creates loads of dirty dishes, but the is good for our bodies, good for the pocketbook, and good for th Earth. I soak and cook our beans, which are paired with a number of grains. I make homemade granola and oatmeal. We eat eggs from the chickens with our homemade bread. Throw in some fresh produce, our local beef share, and my home canned goods, and we’ve just about got everything we need.

I’ve also been sewing for my family, which feels fantastic. I’ve made clothes for me and River, and goods for the rest of the family.

Our animals are well and keep us on our toes. Rotational grazing and timed free ranging are the name of the game, even in a backyard farm.

Wish I had some pics to show you, but my phone’s on hiatus.

See you next time,

Erin

About Erin O'Neill

Hi, my name is Erin O'Neill. I am a part time urban homesteader and a full time homemaker and new mom. I enjoy canning my own food, crafting, raising chickens and working my bit of land. This blog is for anyone who wants to hear about the day to day struggles and successes of incorporating the old ways of life back into today's busy world.
This entry was posted in animals, baking, bread, garden, pantry, sewing, thrifty. Bookmark the permalink.

What'd ya think?

